Topic: internal thinkpad keyboard/trackpoint interface

As the other thread is more about general, I'd like to discuss here how to make as many thinkpad keyboard/trackpoint combination available.
I guess there is some interest in using those keyboards and even some to reuse an old thinkpad case in general to place a novena in it.
So I'm not an electrical engineer or hardware developer I'd like to initiate a comunity success here. I'm willing to get the final thing done by organizing the "production" like I did with the battery board.

If I understand it correctly all these keyboard/trackpoint things are one unit, but have seperated connections. From which one is the keyboard just "delivering" the bare matrix of the keys and the trackpoint delivers "some signals" (I honestly have no idea which..).
I also understand, that an arduino has some drawbacks:
- forces to send keys as letters instead of keycodes
- somwhat slow
- misses some combinations and special keys

So an other mc is a better choise, but at the moment only a cosed source for an adaptor is available.

Here is my idea: Setting up an hackaday project, so everyone can join in (by adding them as team member) and host the stuff on that wikipage, if bunnie don't mind.

and some rough ideas, how to get started:
-finding which connectors are used (and if the counterpart is still available)
-finding/ decoding the matrix itself (perhaps different for each keyboard. Can that perhaps be done with a adaptor to an arduino? (connecting it to one and having the sketch of the arduino telling me which wires are connected, while I press key)
-getting info how the trackpoint works

developing a connector board, which converts the trackpoint signals into mouse movement and the kayboard into keycodes.

I have some thinkpads lying around (560, 570, 600, T43 IIRC) and I'm willing to do the part I've done with the battery boards. but need someone doing the circuit and hardware design.

Anyone interested in starting this, too?