Topic: Cases and case design

I can't be the only one thinking of making a new case for my Novena, and I thought it would be cool to hear what other people are thinking of doing.

My current thought is to machine an aluminum case and add the guts of a ThinkPad USB keyboard. I've got a source of aluminum and access to a mill, so I figure I should be able to make something at least functional and robust. Pretty and light, maybe not so much (I'm an amateur designer and machinist at best).

My concerns with this are with heat and the wireless. I'd like to get away without using fans, and it seems like that should be doable with what is essentially a giant heatsink as the case. Of course, I don't have any background in thermal design, so I really don't know. For the wireless, I think I should be able to find locations for two antennas to get acceptable performance.

So what are other people thinking? Any suggestions/improvements to my ideas?

Re: Cases and case design

I wouldn't be too terribly worried about either heat or wifi.  It certainly doesn't get overly hot, and wifi performance is pretty good.  All else failing, you can snake the wifi antennas out an aperture somewhere for better reception.

I'm partial to Apple Bluetooth keyboards and trackpads, so I'm trying to figure out how to attach my Magic Trackpad and Apple Bluetooth keyboard to the case.  Of course, I might try going for a different keyboard if I can't find a good way to take care of it...